Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has been officially sworn as the Port Dickson MP at the 2nd meeting of the 1st session of the fourteenth Parliament. The swearing-in of Anwar was the first agenda in the Dewan Rakyat and had been witnessed by the Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, the Prime Minister and MPs from both divides.

The inauguration is just two days after he won the by-election of Port Dickson by an enormous majority. The to-be PKR president have been previously elected as the Permatang Pauh MP from 1982-199 and also 2000-2015. He had last participated in the parliamentary debate regarding the budget 2015 prior to being imprisoned on 10th February, 2015.

The Penang-born later on took his place on the front row in the Pakatan Harapan side of House. He was crushed between Iskandar Puteri MP Lim Kit Siang and DAP adviser on his left and on his right, Semporna MP Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal. Shafie is the Parti Warisan Sabah president and also the chief minister of northern Borneo state.

Anwar had pledged to work with Lim for carrying out the parliamentary reform within the next 6 months.  Later on while speaking to the press, Anwar stated that the he wished to help in reforming the Parliament in making the lawmaking house more effective through the set-up of the select committees.

He says that he has deliberated to some extent with Tun Dr. Mahathir regarding how to ensure if the parliament is efficacious in serving the constituencies and also the nations at large. Even before he was sworn in as the MP of Port Dickson, he took out time to meet with him and inform him regarding his role that is to make sure the government is strong and stable under the leadership. The to-be PKR president has reiterated his pledge for supporting the prime minister.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here