The post of PKR president has been officially assumed by Anwar Ibrahim by taking over the reins from his wife Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail. Mohamed Azmin Ali defended successfully his position as the deputy president for the PKR party after he defeated Rafizi Ramli, former vice president, in a tight race for the contest.

The announcement for the official results of the PKR polls were done by Rashid Din, the chairman of the central election committee of the party during the closing ceremony of the PKR national congress. The newly elected vice presidents for the PKR party are Chua Tian Chang, also known as Tian Chua, Nurul Izzah Anwar, Xavier Jayakumar, and Zuraida Kamaruddin. The 20 members of the committee comprises of Kapar MP Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid, Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad, Foreign Affairs Minister Saifuddin Abdullah, Gan Pei Nei, Selangor Menteri Besar Amirudin Shari, Elizabeth Wong, Kamaruddin Jaffar, Sivarasah Rasiah and Larry Sng. They all will serve the term from 2018 to 2021. The PKR elections took place from September 14th to October 10th. It witnessed more than 800,000 members of the party who took the polls of the present year in near about 218 divisions across the nation. This was also the first election of the PKR party after the general election that took place in the month of May.

The PKR election saw a powerful and intense battle between Azmin Ali and Rafizi, both of them locked their horns for the post of the deputy president for the party. The party got divided into two camps and members took the side of both the contenders for the post, during the elections were going on. The elections are also considered to be the longest in the country for a party. It also saw a number of complaints over alleged membership flowed in some of the divisions like hacking in the tablets used in its e-voting system for the polls and purported buying of votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here