As encouraged by the clear skies, the voters who had registered early for the by-election of Port Dickson turned up early at the Army Basic Training Center for casting their vote. Consisting mainly of army personnel along with their spouses who are the voters arrived at 7 a.m. at the Pusasda hangar. Their faces glow with determination and excitement as they make themselves ready to get their voices heard.

At the polling center, Lt Col (Rtd) Mohd Nazari Mokhtar, the PAS candidate was seen to observe the army camp. 7,191 early voters might vote at the three polling centers that opened at 8 a.m. for the parliamentary by-election of Port Dickson. Among these, 6,636 armed personnel and also their spouses who are going to vote at the Pusasda hangar and also the PD Segenting Camp multi-purpose hall, while the 55 police personnel are going to do the same at Port Dickson Police Headquarters.

The 3 polling centers are going to have 13 streams that is open till 5:30 while 3 in the Port Dickson IPD at the Camps A, B, and C that will close at noon because of the small number of voters.

PD election is actually a 7 cornered contest amongst Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, the PKR president of Pakatan Harapan. PAS’s Lt Col (Rtd) Mohd Nazari Mokhtar and five independent candidates, Tan Sri Mohd Isa Abdul Samad, the former Negeri Sembilan menteri besar, Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan, the former personal aide of Anwar, Stevie Chan Ken Leong, social media personality, Lau Seck Yan, a former lecturer at a private university, and management consultant Kan Chee Yuen.

The Port Dickson seat which had been vacated by PKRs Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah is to enable Anwar to become the Anwar. This constituency having 75,770 registered voters that comprised of 43% Malays, 22 percent Indians, and 33 percent Chinese, and two percent others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here