All three polling centers for early voting for the by-election of Port Dickson closed down at 5:30pm. The polling centers had been at the Multipurpose Hall, Segenting Camp Army Basic Training Center hangar, and also Port Dickson police headquarters.  Khairy Maamor, the returning officer have said that 63% of the voters of 4,564 of the 7,191 voters are actually eligible for early voting made up of police and the military personnel and also their spouses who cast their vote.

This is not even close to 90% of the early voter turnout in 14th general election of 9th May. The ballot box is going to be kept under lock and key of Port Dickson IPD lock up. It is only going to be opened during the time of vote tallying at PD Municipal Council Hall on the polling day.  The parliamentary by-election of Port Dickson is the 4th by-election after the 9th May general election. The earlier 3 had been the state by-election for the seats of Seri Setia, Sungai Kandis, and also Balakong, all in Selangor.

The election of PD had been a 7-cornered contest amongst Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, the PKR president-elect of Pakatan Harapan, PAS’s Lt Col (Rtd) Mohd Nazari Mokhtar, along with the 5 independent candidates Tan Sri Mohd Isa Abdul Samad, the former Negri Sembilan mentri besar; Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan, former personal aide of Anwar; Stevie Chan Ken Leong, social media personality; Kan Chee Yuen, management consultant; and Lau Seck Yan, a former lecturer of a private university.

The Port Dickson seat had been vacated by PKR’s Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah in order to make Anwar contest and become the MP. The parliamentary constituency, the PKR stronghold since the year 2008 has 5state constituencies within it. Chuah and Lukut as held by DAP; Sri Tanjung as held by PKR; and Bagan Pinang and Linggi as held by Barisan Nasional. This shows that people are not really in support of Anwar.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here