Malaysia has failed to advance in the Asian Hockey Champions Trophy 2018 final after they lost 3-1 to three time’s winner Pakistan in the penalty shoot-out which followed the semifinal match at Muscat’s Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex in Oman. The match was to be decided with the help of a penalty shoot-out after the teams had tied 4-4 following the regulation time.

Being defeated Malaysia is going to meet Asian Games 2018 winners Japan in the 3rd-4th placing match later after the latter had lost 2-3 for reigning champions India in other semi-final match.

Malaysia had taken a lead in the 2nd minute after Faizal Saari, the national forward had converted a penalty corner just to see Pakistan bounce back and score 3 goals through Muhammad Irfan Junior’s field goal in the 6th minutes, a penalty corner scored by Aleem Bilal, and also Abu Bakar Mahmood’s field goal 3 minutes later. Aleen is known to have scored his second goal in the match through the penalty corner in the 20th minute. However, the national side has managed to claw their way back through two quick field goals in the 42nd minute by Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin Tengku Abdul Jalil followed by Muhammad Aiman Nik Rozemi in the 44th minute prior to Faizal scoring the equalizing goal through the penalty corner in 56th minute.

The only Malaysian player to score a goal during the time of penalty is Nik Muhammad Aiman out of the 3 others Muhammad Firhan Ashari, Faizal, and Muhammad Shahril Saabah had failed to do so. 6 countries are taking part in the tournament, Pakistan, India, South Korea, Malaysia, Japan, and the host Oman. Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin Tengku Abdul Jalil


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here